MGMT’s ‘Congratulations’ – the verdict is in…

…for the title track, at least. I don’t believe it: I literally step away from the world wide web for a couple of days and suddenly teh Internetz is ablaze with news of an MGMT album leak. Unfortunately, though, the speed of French net (or lack thereof) is currently preventing me from downloading said leak. However, I’ve been able to get my eager hands on an mp3 of ‘Congratulations’ and I must say I’m feeling a bit “meh”/apprehensive at the moment. So far, it’s a so-so track which wouldn’t be altogether out of place as an ‘Oracular Spectacular’ B-side. Thoughts? Mp3 removed by request, I’m afraid.

P.S. I have now had the opportunity to listen to the album in its entirety and I am very impressed. Though it doesn’t contain any of the amazing, stand-out signature tracks ‘Oracular Spectacular’ does, the album as a whole fits together much better. A very solid effort.

Leave a Reply

